Council Board Takes Office

Council Board Takes Office

World Council Presents New Members at Annual General Meeting 

VIENNA, Austria — Brian McCrory has been elected the Chair of World Council of Credit Unions Board of Directors. McCrory, who succeeded Daniel Burns, representing the Irish League of Credit Unions, formally took office during the World Credit Union Conference Annual General Meeting on Monday, 24 July in Vienna, Austria.

2017–2018 World Council Board of Directors
(Seated from left) Dr. Chul-sang Moon, Rafał Matusiak (Chair of the Governance and Elections Committee),
Steve Stapp (Vice Chair), Brian McCrory (Chair), Diana Dykstra (Treasurer), Manfred Dasenbrock
(Standing from left) Mark Degotardi, Carla Altepeter, George Ototo, Kevin Sitka, Brian Branch
(World Council president and CEO), Aaron Moses, Martha Durdin, Jaime Chavez Suarez and Dallas Bergl (not pictured).

“We are here trying to enhance cooperation among cooperatives. It is through these collaborations, not based on self-interest, but based on mutual interest we can capture, foster and enable cooperation on a global basis for our members, and our members’ members,” said McCrory. “We exist in the ecosystem of the financial services market, yet our DNA is very different so we must redouble our efforts to educate others. We ask our regulators to regulate not what we do but how we do it.”

Other new World Council directors at the 2017 annual general meeting included:

  • Kevin Sitka, Canada
  • Dallas Bergl, USA

World Council’s 2017-2018 executive committee is as follows:

Chair, Brian McCrory, Ireland

Vice Chair, Steve Stapp, USA

Treasurer, Diana Dykstra, USA

Chair of the Governance and Elections Committee, Rafal Matusiak, Poland


Go Back to News page

Leave a Reply